top of page

Inspired by a transcription by composer Franz Liszt, GÖTTERFUNKEN employs the duality of two grand pianos to reimagine and reinterpret Beethoven’s revered Ninth Symphony. As mother and daughter, pianists Eliane Rodrigues and Nina Smeets infuse their own personal flair with Rodrigues’s arrangement, following the path Beethoven paved while connecting his work to the present day with small instances of improvisation throughout that reflect his original stylistic preferences. Conceptualized in the age of social distancing, GÖTTERFUNKEN was arranged not only to reunite Rodrigues and Smeets through music, but the world as a whole with Beethoven’s magnum opus.



SYMPHONY NO. 9 in D Minor, OP. 125 "Choral" Arrangement by Eliane Rodrigues

I. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso 17:02

II. Scherzo. Molto vivace  12:33

III. Adagio molto e cantabile 19:23

IV. Finale  29:16


itunes purchase link:

Götterfunken - Beethoven / Symphony 9 ELIANE RODRIGUES and Nina Smeets

19,00 €Price
    bottom of page